Irish Vegetarian Singer, Imelda May

Extracts from a Daily Mail interview with vegetarian singer, Imelda May from Dublin…

I owe a lot of my success to an injured crow.

In 2008 I was in a London park when I came across a fledgling crow that had fallen from the top of an oak tree. A woman happened to be passing and she said that she rescued animals, so she invited me back to her house. It turned out she was the wife of Jeff Beck. Jeff was there and we ended up jamming together. We became firm friends and all sorts of doors started opening for me.

I’ve always stood up for my principles.

At school I’d refuse to take part in biology lessons when animals were being dissected. One time the teacher announced that we would be gassing worms. So I ran around the room, gathered up all the worms and set them free in the fields. I just loved animals and couldn’t bear the thought of them suffering. We lived next to a slaughter-house, so I was used to seeing the pigs escape down the road, then be hauled back in to be killed. It’s not really surprising I became a vegetarian…

Visit the Mail Online website to read the full interview.

Purchase Imelda May CDs

Love Tattoo (amazon.com)
Love Tattoo (Amazon.co.uk)
Mayhem (Amazon.co.uk)

Leave a Reply

