It’s easy to be vegan in Ireland. To get started, we recommend that you download a free vegan starter guide for recipes, nutrition advice and product recommendations.
The Irish section of Happycow.net contains details of restaurants that cater for vegans as well as a list of health food shops. If you are visiting a town in Ireland which is not covered, contact restaurants in the area in advance to enquire about vegan options. Many restaurants and hotels offer vegetarian meals that can be modified for vegans – simply make it clear that the meal must not contain meat, dairy, eggs or any animal by-products.
Drinking Out – Coffee, Tea, Milkshakes
Vegan milkshakes can be purchased at the two branches of Shakeaway in Dublin City – at Liffey Street and in the St Stephens Green Centre.
Drinking Out – Bars and Pubs
Ireland’s most famous drink, Guinness, is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans as isinglass (a gelatin obtained from the air bladders of fish) is used in the fining process. For a list of alcoholic beverages suitable for vegans, see Healthy Happy Life. Lists of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages may also be found in the Animal Free Shopper book (please see below).
Most of the major supermarkets stock food and drink that is suitable for vegans. As many of these will not be labelled as vegan, it is advisable to do your research first. The Vegan Society’s Animal Free Shopper book contains lists of thousands of vegan items, many of which are available in Ireland.
You may also download lists of vegan products that are available in:
Vegan Alternatives (Ireland)
It’s very easy to be vegan in Ireland. Health food stores, Fruit & Veg shops and supermarkets make it easy for you to get everything you need to enjoy a healthy vegan diet.
The Vegan Society’s Animal-free Shopper is an essential guide to all things vegan – food, drink, snacks, cleaning products, household items, etc, etc. It is aimed at consumers in the United Kingdom but it also relevant to Irish consumers as there are several UK supermarkets in Ireland. You can order a copy from the Vegan Society Online Shop (Price: £4.99)
You can also search for vegan products in the online version of the Animal-free Shopper
Flying to Ireland
If you are travelling to Ireland by air, please remember to contact your airline in advance to arrange a vegan in-flight meal. If you are flying to Ireland with Aer Lingus, find out how you can order a vegan meal by visiting the Aer Lingus Website. The order code is VGML and you can arrange the meal(s) at the time of booking or by contacting your local Aer Lingus Reservations Office (please ensure you have your booking reference number). Once on board the aircraft, let the Cabin Crew know that you have ordered a special meal.
Regional Irish Vegetarian and Vegan Groups
Vegan Galway http://vegangalway.blogspot.com/
Vegan products made in Ireland
Handmade in County Clare, all products in the Empress cosmetics range are vegetarian and many are suitable for Vegans.
Celtic Chocolate / Choices Chocolate
Celtic produce delicious dairy-free vegan chocolates. Not all of their “Choices Chocolate” range is vegan so please check labels. Available in health food stores and some supermarkets.
Country Kitchens Bakery
Cinnamon and Raisin Bagels are made in Ireland and labelled as suitable for vegans. www.countrykitchensbakery.ie
100% vegan cakes, cupcakes, muffins, cookies, brownies, truffles. Based in South County Dublin.
Dee’s vegan burgers
Available in the chilled section of supermarkets and health food stores.
Fuelling your vehicle
If you are driving a vehicle in Ireland that is fuelled with bioethanol, please be aware that some fuels are non-vegan. One to avoid purchasing is Maxol’s Bioethanol E85 which is manufactured from milk-derivative, whey.
Useful Irish Phrases
(Thanks to the International Vegetarian Union)
English is spoken all over Ireland but the following Irish language phrases may come in handy if you are visiting a Gaeltacht (Irish speaking) area or if you wish to speak “as Gaeilge” (in Irish) with Irish speakers throughout the country.
Is feoilshéantóir mé – I’m a vegetarian
Ní ithim aon feoil (ná iasc) (ná sicín) – I don’t eat meat (nor fish)(nor chicken)
Ní ólaim bainne – I do not drink milk
Ní ithim feoil mar ní theastaíonn uaim ainmhithe a mharú – I don’t eat meat as I don’t want to kill animals
An bhfuil feoil/iasc sa bhia seo? – Is there meat/fish in this food?
An bhfuil aon rud ar an mbiachlár gan fheoil? – Is there anything on the menu that doesn’t have meat?
An bhfuil uibheacha sa bhia seo? – Are there eggs in this food?